New Rallysprint series for NSW and Victoria

The Wagga & District Car Club, the Albury Wodonga and Districts Car Club and the North Eastern Car Club all want to rebuild their rallying profiles, and given the difficulty of attracting entries from the distant big competitor bases in Sydney and Melbourne have come up with the an exciting series that should get the attention of competitors of all abilities from near and far.  They are reinstating the Riverina North Eastern Victoria Rally Series that run successfully from 1980 to 1994, but as a series of Rallysprint events run by each club to be known as the Riverina North East Rallysprint Challenge.

The events will be run two weeks apart over a four week period from 9 September to 7 October 2017.  Facilities are available for competitors who want to leave their cars in the area for that period and come and work on them before each event.

First up on 7 September will be the iconic NECC Mt Porepunkah Rallysprint, based near Bright, back again after a few years lay off.  The 8 km roads up and over the mountain have received some maintenance so are in the best condition seen for some years.  They will be run twice in each direction as usual.  Contact is Ron Harper (

Second up on 23 September will be Wagga’s Bondo Rallysprint, run in the Bondo state Forest near Tumut.  Wagga have traditionally run the Mundarlo Road event, but have moved back into the forest with 10 and 13 km stages used three times in the one direction in a variation to normal Rallysprint format at the request of NSW Forestry Corporation.  Contact is Debbie Quirk (

The final round on 7 October will be Albury Wodonga’s all new Bethanga Stampede, based at Bethanga out of Albury, revisiting the same name, location and some of the shire roads used as a famous part of the first Sydney-Melbourne-Sydney Southern Cross Rally in 1966.  Two 8 km stages will be run twice in each direction.  Contact is David West (

Intending competitors do not have to enter the Challenge to enter any one of these events, and members of the three organising clubs will not receive preference in accepting entries.

The Challenge Regulations are pretty simple:

  • To be eligible, the driver and co-driver must be a financial member of one of the three clubs.
  • Entry forms will allow for option to nominate for RNERC.
  • There will be a 4wd winning driver and a 2wd winning driver and co-driver.
  • Points to be awarded from each event: 1st 20, 2nd 15, 3rd 11, 4th 8, 5th 6, 6th 5, 7th 4, 8th 3, 9th 2, 10th 1.
  • Compensatory points for officialling on one round to be average of points gained in all other rounds contested.  No enter equals no points.
  • The Club with most points from competing members will be recognised on and retain the (existing) perpetual trophy.

An announcement on a Challenge Sponsor and awards is still to come.