First conducted in 1961, the Victorian Rally Championship (VRC) is the highest level of amateur rallying in Victoria. In 2017, crews will battle for the title over 5 rounds with a mix of blind and pace-noted events travelling across the State – starting with the opening round that will be combined with the Australian Rally Championship event in Ballarat. Crews will then return to the roads in Mitta Mitta Mountain district before entering a winter break before tackling the technical roads around Avoca with the Pyrenees Rush and over to the glorious forestry roads around Marysville north of the Yarra Valley. The Akademos Rally will conclude this years’ championship. The series is open to all PRC, Group N, S2000, Historic, Classic and Club Rally Cars.

2017 sees the recommendation for G2 and G4 rally cars to be eligible for the outright championship, however G2 rally cars will not be eligible for the 2 wheel drive championship. (See related press release)

The events in the 2017 VRC promise to be organised to the same high standards that competitors have come to expect in Victoria. Many events include a ceremonial start, to give the local community a chance to check out the cars and meet the competitors, spectator points, and a focussed pre-event promotional campaign, designed to attract more competitors, officials, spectators and sponsors.

Focus on Furniture and Bedding have again been named the major sponsor of the Championship. The sponsorship will mean the continuation of a subsidy for the use of Rallysafe by each VRC competitor plus additonal funds to promote the championship and to encourage lower level competitors to enter FOF&B VRC events.